Who Owns What?
Going back to SPCK stuff. I received a comment today from one of those who reposted Dave Walker’s “missing” blogs.
Relating to a post I made about the WHOIS information on various SSG websites, the anonymous commenter writes:
“Another interesting question is who exactly owns the online bookselling arm of the SPCK, particularly as they are now happy to offer books by such important religious writers as Aleister Crowley, let alone a wide range
of ‘adult’ material. spckonline.com is still registered to the SPCK although they of course say that they’ve passed the domain over to SSG. When you go on to spckonline though you are in reality on a twinned site ‘Third Space Books’. You’d have expected to find that to be registered to one of the Brewer brothers’ myriad enterprises, but it’s hard to tell. The whois for thirdspacebooks.com shows up thus:
Registrant Contact
Name: Carey A McDonald
Address: 202 N Curry St.
Carson City, NV 89703
US
Note that Andy McDonald is not listed as the registrant, merely as the contact. Andy himself has a site http://www.juland.com (correctly registered), which appears to have nothing whatever to do with bookselling, let alone the Orthodox faith. How do I know that he’s actually known as Andy? Well, I rung him up (his office number’s on the whois, and his answaphone gives out his mobile number). It would have been nice to establish what and who exactly lay behind an Orthodox Christian online bookseller prepared to use the name of a long-established and respected UK charity to flog such distinctly un-Christian literature, but alas I fear that Andy was not able to give me any assistance whatever.”
I live only 15 miles from Carson City (the capital of Nevada, and also the cheapest petrol around). However, a quick Google search does reveal that the address is an Antiques Store. Confused? I am.
EDIT: Although I think the information is quite bizarre and interesting, I also think it is important that we respect the privacy of some of these people. They are probably innocent of the SPCK/SSG incident, and probably unaware of its existence – so we should be a little careful before contacting them / accusing them of anything.


